top of page
  • Bryan McFarland

Mountain Biking Palo Duro Canyon

45 minutes southeast of Amarillo, Texas was my first real taste of the Southwest. Palo Duro Canyon drops almost 1000 feet from the rim and after driving a few miles into the canyon, we made site 14 at Hackberry Camping Area our temporary home.


There are around 35 miles of hiking, equestrian and mountain biking trails that weave and undulate through the canyon and along some of its walls. And since we arrived early enough, I took my bike for a quick tour before sunset hitting the Lowry, Lighthouse, Paseo Del Rio loop. Everything was different from the smells, the land formations and the way the sun rested in the sky. The trails ran fast and flowy with an occasional sand bar which made me glad I was riding a fat bike. The 4.2” tires floated quite well. The ride was surreal and peaceful, but I was glad to have made it back before dark.


The quality of the trails compounded by the spectacular scenery makes Palo Duro Canyon a must-ride location. And if you’re into racing, they do that here as well; check out USA Cycling, 24 Hours in the Canyon or the Texas Mountain Biking Racing Association (TMBRA).

See the video for my mountain bike tour.



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page